Dawn to Dusk 12Hr Enduro 2008 - Results Available

Scotts Rule in Wales

The Dawn to Dusk Enduro returned once again to Walters Arena near Glyn Neath, South Wales for the second time this year. The 2008 event was the seventh running of the 12-hour race. The Dawn to Dusk team once again put on a brilliant weekend of entertainment and great riding in equal measures, laying on a flowing 15-mile loop that was great fun to ride. The course was perfectly suited to the difficult and slippery conditions and needed almost no alterations, despite the worsening conditions in the weeks leading up to the event.

As usual the Saturday played host to the Dawn to Dusk Youth event, a two-hour race around a shortened 6-mile version of the adult course that catered for all abilities. Thankfully the rain held off for the race and made for a very enjoyable event. As expected the senior class dominated the event, with only the intermediate class winner, Charlie Frost, breaking inside the top 10 of the overall standings. With a rather convincing nine minute margin over Mitchell Frost and Michael Boyles, the senior class was won by Daniel Price. Following Charlie Frost in the intermediate class were Ben Skinner and Barney Thurgood, who both finished a lap down. Bradley Sullivan, who was a lap up on second placed rider Jamie Sutton, won the Junior Class and Tobias Hacker finished a further lap down.

Following the midday finish of the youth event, signing on and scrutineering opened their gates to the influx of 12 hour entrants, the race registered one of its biggest fields this year with over 500 riders. BMW Motorrad also had a heavy presence at this year’s event, with a huge show stand in the paddock and four clubman teams, to showcase the new G450X Enduro bike to the public for the first time in the UK prior to the release of the bike next month. Following the riders briefing and the showing of the sighting lap video, which was shown on a huge screen in the annual event marquee, there was a spectacular fireworks display, which marked both the end of the day for all but a few hard-core competitors and unfortunately the arrival of the weather. Fortunately the rain held off for the seven o’clock start, and in fact most of the race, with only a couple of showers until the very end of the event.

The first wave of riders ran for their bikes at 7:15 and as he has in previous years, Scotsman Richard Hay took an early lead in the opening laps pulling around one and half minutes a lap for the first few laps. Second was the Scottish Pro 2 Rider Dennis Irvine Superbikes Team. They were closely followed by the local Team Cole father/son combination. Over the next few laps the two leading riders started to pull ahead of the chasing pack. Eventually the Dennis Irvine Team caught and passed the Dawn to Dusk Veteran Hay. The Scots efforts must be applauded as he managed to stay in touch with the leaders until the very last laps, finishing a mere 20 minutes down, but still 15 minutes ahead third overall and a lap ahead of the nearest rider in his class.

The winning duo of Little and Norrie also won their class by a convincing two laps following problems to the rear shock of second place Team Touratech BMW team, who finished 20 minutes ahead of their BMW G650 X Challenge mounted teammates, who finished in third.

The Expert 2 Rider class proved extremely competitive, with eight minutes between the top two teams, and four teams finishing in the top ten overall. Team Westwilts Motorcycle club scraped their victory from the team E.P.S Racing, with Team Cole in third.

The clubman classes showed some impressive speed over the twelve hours with the top two teams in the two rider category completing an impressive 17 laps each, with the Beane/Mitchinson combination finishing a mere 39 seconds ahead of the Moto Conversions Wales Team. In third, one lap down were the Rusty Sprockets on 16 laps. The Marathon category was won by a margin of 55 minutes by David Carter ahead of Ronnie Bodinger, with third place going to Callum Hayes two laps down. The clubman three rider class was a BMW clean sweep, with the off road skills teams taking the top two places ahead of the BMW Motorrad Dealer Team.

Overall, the weekend was a great success and the Dawn to Dusk team would like to thank all those who attended event, we all hope you had a great time. However a special and huge thank you must be given to all those who were involved with any and every part of the weekend, from the admin to venue setup and the event clear up. Without you the event would not be possible.


Overall Results

1. Dennis Irvine Superbikes - 18 Laps; 2. Richard Hay – 18 Laps; 3. Westwilts Motorcycle Club – 18 Laps; 4. E.S.P Racing - 18 Laps; 5. Team Cole – 17 Laps

Pro Class Results

1. Dennis Irvine Superbikes - 18 Laps; 2. BMW Touratech Racing G450X – 16 Laps; 3. BMW Touratech Racing G650X Challenge – 16 Laps;

Expert Marathon Class

1. Richard Hay – 18 Laps; 2. James Jackman – 17 Laps; 3. Rob Thorn Motorcycles – 17 Laps

Expert 2 Rider Class

1.Westwilts Motorcycle Club – 18 Laps; 2. E.S.P Racing – 18 Laps; 3. Team Cole – 17 Laps

Clubman Marathon Class

1. David Carter – 14 Laps; 2. Ronnie Bodinger – 14 Laps; 3. Flat Oot Wi Ma Rat Oot – 12 Laps

Clubman 2 Rider Class

1. Beane/Mitchinson – 17 Laps; 2. Moto Conversions Wales – 17 Laps; 3. Rusty Sprockets – 16 Laps

Clubman 3 Rider Class

1. BMW Off Road Skills (Team B) – 16 Laps; 2. BMW Off Road Skills (Team A); 3. BMW Motorrad Dealer Team – 13 Laps

Veteran Marathon Class

1. Chris Shorey – 14 Laps; 2. MOM Kawasaki – 12 Laps; 3. Chris Beswick – 11 Laps

Sportsman 2 Rider Class

1. Haud It ‘N’ Hit It – 13 Laps; 2. Stanmore - 13 Laps; 3. Robins Racers – 13 Laps

Sportsman 3 Riders

1. Steady Days – 15 Laps; 2. Wollaston – 15 Laps; 3. Speedwell Racing Team 2 – 14 Laps
For full results and to see where you finished please go to results

Dawn to Dusk Racing Ltd - Unit 14 Woodlands Business Park, Ystradgynlais, South Wales, UK, SA9 1JW